Uncategorized

I Can’t Believe The Things That You Say

Overheard on the light rail:

“I told that bitch I wasn’t flirting with her. She looked like a damn bird. I should of gave her some birdseed and put her in a cage. She was so fucking ugly. Then she called me fat, and I was like really? You don’t think I know already. I mean I take a shower everyday and I see my body. I mean c’mon man. I’ll straight up tell you dog, I weigh 258 pounds! Now what chu gotta say. Damn bird nose bitch!”

Wow. The Ubuntu is not flowing out of this kid. He was with a friend. I wonder if I should have said something? If I do though I better get ready for a fight and is it really worth it to get stabbed or beaten or shot for coming to the defense of a stranger? All I would have to say is,”hey man there’s ladies present” but obviously I already know their regard for women. I guess that’s why the world doesn’t change. We don’t speak up when we should. We ignore the ugly thing that is happening right in front of our face, put our head down and go on about living out lives. I feel guilty for letting it go. I am a part of the problem and that is a tough realization.

Note: The people depicted in the photo are not the actual conversation participants.

20131006-212609.jpg

Standard

9 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe The Things That You Say

  1. Oooh, great post. I know what you mean. I do believe we should stand up for what’s right and not put our heads in the sand, but I don’t blame you at all for not saying anything in this situation… I would have struggled, too, but usually people don’t take it well when we appear to be sticking our noses in a situation that has nothing to do with us and in which we appear to be giving advice…. It’s a fine line!!! I think it often depends on the situation.

    Like

    • It is a fine line. In this case the person they were referring to wasn’t even there anymore. I was offended for that girl and every other person on that train car with me who had to listen to that conversation. It is just so disconcerting to hear the things that come out of the mouths of young men (and women). I cringe when I think of the things I probably used to say in my youth, as well as they ways in which I acted.

      Like

  2. pi314chron says:

    Jeremy, I’ll cast my vote with Jessica. More than one person has been beaten half to death or worse by inserting themselves into another’s conversation. With a family, you really can’t take that chance. Cut yourself some slack. I would have done exactly as you did. Hang tight, good friend!

    Ron

    Like

  3. Oh Denver light rail, you’re always full of wisdom.
    I’ve actually heard a few of these conversations myself and while I’ve never been bold enough to say anything I’ve always wanted to. I think my course of action would be to escalate the conversation by agreeing with them but taking it to such an extreme that they get uncomfortable, it’s the Colbert/Swift strategy.

    Like

  4. I had a similar experience yesterday. I walked past a couple guys who were saying some really lewd stuff about women. I made eye contact and then looked away and shook my head. I also wanted to get into it with them. I decided not to, because I find that most of the time it just turns sour and nobody is changed at the end. I’ve used the eye contact with look of disdain tactic a few times now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

