Color Street Photography

The People of Colfax

j_nix_streetwork (1 of 1)-600His name is Scott, but his friends know him by his middle name, Mordecai. I met him while shuffling my way up Colfax. I dug in my pocket and gave him a dollar to which he replied “I need a dollar like I need another hole in my head.” I said “Oh, I’m sorry I hope I didn’t offend you.” He assured me there was no offense taken and that he would go ahead and accept the money this time. I spent about 15 or 20 minutes with him, we chatted about life and he told me many stories. Eventually his good friend Al joined us and Mordecai explained his situation with much care. You could tell that he held his friend in high regard and was proud of their friendship.

j_nix_streetwork (1 of 3)-2

He spoke about his belief that Al will someday walk again, and proceeded to justify his case by physically showing me why he believed it. We didn’t really talk about anything in particular, we just talked about whatever came up.One of my biggest obstacles as a photographer is my ineptitude in social situations. While walking down Colfax it dawned on me that I talk to more people on Colfax then any other public place that I frequent with my camera. Some of my favorite street portraits I’ve taken happened on this street.

j_nix_streetwork (1 of 1)-602

The people I meet on Colfax are almost always outcasts by nature. Every encounter with an actual human being is a valuable learning experience for me. I’m learning how to listen. Taking street portraits is a little different than just snatching a decisive moment discreetly, it is slightly more direct. You have to talk to people, hang around with them and just let them tell their story. I only asked one question: “What happened to your face?” he never actually answered the question, but he talked a great deal on many things for a good while. I was just grateful  to be talking to someone in person.

j_nix_streetwork (1 of 1)-601The people I talk to might not know it, but they are making my day by letting me into their world for a brief moment. Each experience like this makes the next one that much easier. I’m infinitely curious about everyone I come across. I hope to continue meeting more people and breaking down those ridiculous barriers that are only holding me back from living my life to its full potential. We don’t talk enough anymore.j_nix_streetwork (1 of 1)-604

In my experience it’s been avoid any unnecessary human contact at all costs. Don’t make eye contact, don’t get in anyone’s way, don’t even say hello. Just put your head down and carry on. Then I got into photography and all that changed. Instead of staying home to avoid the crowd, I insert myself into the middle of the throng and I watch life happen before my eyes and I compulsively start click, click, clicking away, but this isn’t really about me. It’s about my new friends Al and Mordecai, two guys down on their luck, two kind strangers, two human beings who can still smile despite it all. They are the people who inspire me to keep working through the uncomfortable moments and click the shutter anyway. Sometimes I close my eyes while I take the shot, in anticipation of a possible punch to the face. Maybe that is just the nature of a photographer. That slight amount of risk that makes the experience that much more memorable. Thank you guys for letting me turn my lens on you. I appreciate it more than you know.

j_nix_streetwork (1 of 1)-603

Standard

10 thoughts on “The People of Colfax

    • His face is messed up this time because he got jumped for his bottle of Kentucky deluxe his cellphone and his wallet last week. The cope caught the guy buy tracing Scott’s phone and charge the guy who assaulted home with attempted murder. Scott has to many stories he lost his legs as a helicopter paramedic in Afghanistan and that is only a small part of who he is and his adventures in his life.

      Like

      • Wow. Obviously you know him. Who would jump a guy in a wheelchair? He told me a lot of stories but I didn’t want to write about them because I wasn’t sure what to believe and I didn’t want to speak on what I didn’t know. Seeing this comment from you only makes me respect him that much more for his ability to smile in the face of adversity. I sent Al an email with the pictures. Thanks for taking the time to read the blog and comment.

        Like

  1. Great post. I enjoyed you sharing your experience and still applaud you for meeting your challenges head on. I don’t like crowds, wouldn’t insert myself if I had to, however I would talk to folks like this if I had the chance. Happy folk are hard to come by these days.

    Like

    • Thank you for reading! I always appreciate your comments. These type of experiences always feel rewarding to me. I’m coming to a point in my life where it’s time to get over my ha cups or give up trying to be a journalist. What good is a journalist who can’t talk to people? No good at all! I have a lot riding on this reinvention of self, so I figure it’s time to put up or shut up.

      Like

  2. Wonderful street photography with narrative. What a terrific way to truly learn about people you might not otherwise get to know in a lifetime. And what a great thing to share their story with the world of your followers. Thanks for including me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

