Color Street Photography

A Buck in a Guitar Case

j_nix_streetwork (1 of 1)-595

a distinct odor
a buck in a guitar case
exchanging smiles

I walked right by this group of teens and twenty-somethings originally, but something compelled me to turn back around. I walked up and threw a dollar in the guitar case even though no one was playing guitar. I assume the majority of the group was homeless judging by the smell and their generally disheveled appearance. I shouted a request to get a snapshot, and thought they said no at first, so I started to walk away. Then they started motioning me back, I slipped off my headphones (shouldn’t have been wearing them in the first place) and he said “Why did you take off so quick?” I replied “I thought you said you didn’t want any pictures.” His response was “I didn’t dress up like this for nothing, you can take my picture!”  and I did and now you are looking  at it, and I successfully shared his smile with the world, at least the people in the world that take the time to look at this blog. I want to spread the humanness across broadband and WiFi signals, reaching the living brains at the end of the connections, illiciting a response. I’ve actually had photography teachers tell me they HATE it when people smile at their cameras. I couldn’t imagine why. Smiling is infectious and it’s free and they make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

Standard

6 thoughts on “A Buck in a Guitar Case

Leave a Reply

